Animal Universe / Bjørkøe

Animal Universe / Bjørkøe

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The challenge of the Etude has intrigued and inspired composers from Bach and Chopin on: can music designed to improve technique hold its own aesthetic value? Pianist Christina Bjørkøe has an inspired answer to that question. She commissioned a set of three animal etudes from twelve composers and here presents the charming, evocative and very useful musical menagerie that resulted. From flea to hippo, beginner to professional, there is something for everyone. The pianist Christina Bjørkøe is one of Denmark’s leading musicians. She performs solo, as a chamber musician and as a soloist with the Danish symphony orchestras. She is also an associate professor at the Danish National Academy of Music. Among the numerous awards Christina Bjørkøe has received are the Victor Borges Award, the Carl Nielsen Travel Scholarship and the Gladsaxe Music Prize. In 2005 she won the DR P2 Prize for her recording of Knudåge Riisager’s piano works. She received the same award in 2009 for her complete recording of Carl Nielsen’s piano works.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 07, 2021

  • Catalog Number: 8224733

  • UPC: 747313693320

  • Label: Dacapo

  • Number of Discs: 1