1. Arensky: Egyptian Nights / Yablonsky, Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra
  2. Arensky: Egyptian Nights / Yablonsky, Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra

Arensky: Egyptian Nights / Yablonsky, Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

A student of Rimsky-Korsakov and the teacher of Rachmaninov and Scriabin, Anton Arensky holds a distinguished place in the history of Russian music as both an academic and a composer. For his 1900 ballet Egyptian Nights, based on Pushkin, he chose an exotic theme – the dangerous love of the handsome Amoun for Queen Cleopatra – and sought authentic melodic material in scholarly texts. With his gift for orchestration and color, Arensky fashioned a sensuous and vivid score, featuring a brilliantly conceived series of dances. This was a world premiere recording on its initial release on Marco Polo 8.225028, recorded in1996. Gramophone wrote: ‘The playing is suitably colorful, the recording responsive to that’, as did Fanfare: ‘The Moscow Symphony Orchestra clearly revels in this repertoire, and it plays with spirit and enjoyment.’


The present disc is one of many recordings originally on Marco Polo that have been re-released on Naxos. Acoustically, Egyptian Nights could use an up-to-date recording, but one cannot cavil about Dmitri Yablonsky’s powerful performance, which derives the maximum excitement from the score. The Moscow Symphony Orchestra plays equally well and the whole production is a feast for any fan of Russian music of the time.

– MusicWeb International

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8573633

  • UPC: 747313363377

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Anton Stepanovich Arensky

  • Conductor: Dmitry Yablonsky

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Moscow Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Alexander Avramenko, Vladimir Kolpashnikov