Arnold, Schonberger & Gipps: Horn Concertos / Goldscheider, Reynolds

Regular price $24.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
This recording not only celebrates multiple centenaries of Malcolm Arnold, Ruth Gipps, and Dennis Brain (the dedicatee of the Arnold concerto) who were all born in 1921 - but also three composers whose musical language and worlds bear striking similarities. Both Arnold and Gipps were writing at a time when the grain of musical fashion was going against them. It was composers such as Pierre Boulez, Luigi Nono, and Karlheinz Stockhausen from the Darmstadt school who were the intellectual vanguard of the time, the music much more experimental, serialist, and philosophical in its makeup. In contrast to this, Arnold and Gipps placed euphony (as traditionally conceived) higher on the priority list. With the Horn Concerto in F by Christoph Schönberger, we have a similar situation for the 21st century. The composer describes his work as being in the neo-Romantic style, the structure and harmony of the work traditional in nature with a nonetheless unique aesthetic. 
This recording sheds fresh light on works that are in dire need of more performances, as well as highlighting the wonderful potential of the horn as a solo instrument for the 21st century.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 01, 2022

  • Catalog Number: WHR068

  • UPC: 5060742690117

  • Label: Willowhayne Records

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Conductor: Lee Reynolds

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Philharmonia Orchestra

  • Performer: Ben Goldscheider