Bacewicz: Piano Quintets, Quartet for 4 Violins, Quartet for 4 Cellos / Silesian Quartet

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Also available from the Silesian Quartet on Chandos: Bacewicz: Complete String Quartets

The 2017 Gramophone Award-winning Silesian Quartet here presents its second recording on Chandos, again devoted to the works of the Polish female composer Grazyna Bacewicz, in a rare programme full of contrast and individuality. The four works brought together here – two unusual quartet formations and two piano quintets – form an integral part of the central, chamber music strand in Bacewicz's output. While the Quartet for Four Violins and the First Piano Quintet have maintained a strong presence in both concerts and recordings, the intriguing Quartet for Four Cellos and Second Piano Quintet are lesser-known pieces. This is yet another must-have, preceding the fiftieth year of Bacewicz's death commemorations, a composer whose music is now considered by broadcasters, promoters, critics, and artists as an essential part of the Polish repertoire.



Bacewicz can generate momentum in the space of a four-minute movement and integrates eloquent bleakness with some of the sharpest, most light-footed musical wit since Haydn…This disc deserves to make a lot of converts.

– Gramophone

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: CHAN 10976

  • UPC: 095115197622

  • Label: Chandos

  • Composer: Grazyna Bacewicz

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Polish Cello Quartet, Silesian String Quartet

  • Performer: Arkadiusz Kubica, Krzysztof Lason, Małgorzata Wasiucionek, Szymon Krzeszowiec, Wojciech Switala


  1. Quintet for Piano and Strings no 1

    Composer: Grazyna Bacewicz

    Ensemble: Silesian String Quartet

    Performer: Wojciech Switala (Piano)

  2. Quintet for Piano and Strings no 2

    Composer: Grazyna Bacewicz

    Ensemble: Silesian String Quartet

    Performer: Wojciech Switala (Piano)

  3. Quartet for 4 violins

    Composer: Grazyna Bacewicz

    Performer: Szymon Krzeszowiec (Violin), Arkadiusz Kubica (Violin), Krzysztof Lason (Violin), Małgorzata Wasiucionek (Violin)

  4. Quartet for 4 Celli

    Composer: Grazyna Bacewicz

    Ensemble: Polish Cello Quartet