Bach: Complete Violin Sonatas & Partitas / Suarez

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The Spanish violinist Pablo Suárez presents the complete collection of the Six sonatas and partitas for solo violin by Johann Sebastian Bach founded on one of his most profound, ambitious and personal approaches, Sei Solo. Sei Solo is a proposal including not only the performance of the composer’s original music, but also the contributions offered by the researcher Helga Thoene which are based on the discovery of the possible existence, among some of the movements, of chorales by the composer himself. For this, she has counted on the collaboration of the soprano Manon Chauvin, the countertenor Gabriel Díaz, the tenor Fran Braojos, the bass Simón Millán, and the cellist Marco Pannaría.

The delicate textures of the vocal registers, combined with the solemnity of the cello, represent a perfect complement for this original purpose. With this idea, the Madrid-born musician introduces himself into the most intimate, human, introspective and sentimental language of the German composer’s personality, grounding his interpretation on a wide spectrum of colours, essences, nuances and timbres provided both by the placement of gut strings in the instrument used (a Nicola Gagliano violin dated 1780 in Naples) and by the natural acoustics of the environment selected for this project (the interior of the Church of Nuestra Señora de la Paz in the town of Gójar in Granada). The sonority, which has been created taking into consideration characteristics quite similar to those that could be found in 18th century instruments, finds its particular personality in parameters such as luminosity, clarity, definition and direction, through a performance in which excellent technical mastery, together with marvelous control in the development of the music, allow harmonic, melodic, affective and sensorial gestures to predominate at all times.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 26, 2023

  • Catalog Number: IBS-52023

  • UPC: 8436597700528

  • Label: IBS Classical

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

  • Performer: Pablo Suarez


  1. Sonatas and Partitas, BWV 1001-1006

    Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

    Performer: Pablo Suarez (Violin)