Reimagined - Bach: Goldberg Variations / Podger, Brecon Baroque

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Imagining how Bach himself might have transformed the Goldberg Variations for a chamber group, Rachel Podger and Brecon Baroque present a pioneering new arrangement of the Goldberg Variations by Chad Kelly. Employing a variety of instrumental combinations from a typical Bach ensemble of single strings, oboe, flute, bassoon, and harpsichord, these newly-crafted Goldbergs illuminate exquisite responses to the various historical genres inherent in Bach’s scores.

This beloved masterpiece was composed through a period of personal tumult for Bach; two unsuccessful job applications, the premature death of his son Gottfried, and criticism of his music in a prominent Hamburg publication. Bach’s outpouring of beauty in the Goldberg Variations has long captured audience’s imaginations - Chad Kelly, Rachel Podger, and her fleet Brecon Baroque preserve the work’s exquisite intricacy whilst adding breadth, texture and color to its emotional backdrop. This revisioning of Bach’s Goldberg Variations is a perfect transformation of the work for the modern era.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 20, 2023

  • Catalog Number: CCSSA44923

  • UPC: 723385449232

  • Label: Channel Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Brecon Baroque

  • Performer: Rachel Podger


  1. Goldberg Variations, BWV 988

    Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

    Ensemble: Brecon Baroque

    Performer: Rachel Podger (Violin)