Bach: Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin / Auner, Glüxam - ArkivMusic

Bach: Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin / Auner, Glüxam

Regular price $32.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Thanks to this groundbreaking release from violinist Daniel Auner, advised and coached by musicologist Dagmar Glüxam, listeners can hear something new - and old! - in these cherished works. In consultation with one of the world's leading experts on the thinking about emotion in music that Bach and his contemporaries learned and used, Auner has brought the baroque principles of affect and rhetoric back to the fore in a series of moving interpretations.

Glüxam writes: "the first question that may arise in reaction to this new recording of the Sei Solo (BWV 1001–1006) for solo violin by Johann Sebastian Bach is whether it is justified; there are already numerous recordings of this work, why then another one? The answer can be found in [my] recently published book Aus der Seele muss man spielen...

"This recording by the Austrian violinist Daniel Auner is probably the first one made of an interpretation achieved thorough consistent application of the principles of affect theory and musical rhetoric. Why is the 'affect' so immensely important in 17th- and 18th-century music, and particularly in the Sei Solo? An affect (also called Affekt, Leydenschaft, passion, emotion, sentiment, etc.) is a term used to describe human emotions, and was undisputedly the foundation of musical thought in this time period. Every composer was obliged to musically encode, so to say, a spectrum of these emotions in their work." Bach was no exception, and here, Auner accesses this way of feeling once more.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 04, 2022

  • Catalog Number: ARS38600

  • UPC: 4260052386002

  • Label: Ars Produktion

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Baroque