Bach, Telemann: The Hidden Reunion / Schmidt-Casdorff, Zipperling, Destrube, Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
After the very difficult period of confinement and travel restrictions of 2020 and 2021, the Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century has found ways for touring and recording again. Putting in the spotlight two of the orchestra’s long-term soloists, Rainer Zipperling on viola da gamba and Michael Schmidt-Casdorff on flute, this new recording presents Telemann and Bach in the unique light provided by the late Frans Brüggen’s orchestra: exquisite sound, supreme phrasing, sublime poetry throughout. In two recording periods, in May and August2021, the legendary ensemble has put together a fine program that will entirely satisfy the many fans and serve as a reminder of what the big-scale version of the orchestra was and will soon be again be. Anna Enquist, one of the Netherlands’ most famous and prestigious writers, provides a beautiful essay for the booklet that describes all the developments of the orchestra over the last year and a half, leading to this very special come together.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 19, 2021

  • Catalog Number: GCD921130

  • UPC: 8424562211308

  • Label: Glossa

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

  • Conductor: Marc Destrube

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century

  • Performer: Rainer Zipperling