Bach: The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 2 / Rangell

Regular price $26.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Pianist Andrew Rangell's debut recording—released thirty years ago—featured Bach's Goldberg Variations, F-sharp minor toccata, and the two Ricercares from "A Musical Offering". Over the course of many years, the verve, beauty, and originality of Mr. Rangell's Bach playing have been evidenced in a steady progression of interpretations: The Partitas, French Suites, Well-Tempered Clavier (bk.1), The Art of Fugue, English Suites, Inventions, Sinfonias, and many other individual pieces. Rangell's Bach survey ends with this second book of the WTC in sparkling, free-spirited performances. “Each successive listening reveals a seemingly, heretofore unnoticed beauty and profound polyphonic mystery.” (


If there is one thing that Rangell does have going for him here—and it a big one—it is that he truly inhabits this music. The one thing he cannot be accused of in his playing is being is overly staid, proper, or boring. And if one is looking for a slightly different Bach—one that is not afraid to take chances or offend—then Rangell may be what you’re looking for.

-- Fanfare

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 01, 2022

  • Catalog Number: STNS30176

  • UPC: 034062301768

  • Label: Steinway & Sons

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

  • Performer: Andrew Rangell


  1. The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 2, BWV 870-893

    Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

    Performer: Andrew Rangell (Piano)