Bach Uncaged / Gajić, Carrettin

Regular price $15.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This recording is a reflection of several performances that took place over time and in varying acoustic environments, including collaborations with contemporary and aerial/vertical dance.

The Cage works tend to be binary in form, and while meditatively free flowing in spirit, the architecture is clean and easily understood. The Bach works—four movements that make up a sonata—offer a multitude of interpretive options, including an approach that wanders through the harmonic labyrinth without regard to pulse and traditional notions of time, magnifying minute rhetorical statements along the way. It can be such that the Bach works represent the dreamscape while the atonal prepared piano pieces of Cage represent structure. This might be in opposition to many listeners’ expectations.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 26, 2024

  • Catalog Number: DSL-92273

  • UPC: 053479227300

  • Label: Sono Luminus

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Baroque, 20th Century

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, John Cage

  • Performer: Mina Gajić, Zachary Carrettin


  1. Sonata for Solo Violin No. 1 in G Minor, BWV 1001

    Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

    Performer: Zachary Carrettin (Violin)

  2. Sonatas and Interludes for Prepared Piano (excerpts)

    Composer: John Cage

    Performer: Mina Gajić (Piano)