Bach, Ysaÿe: Pure Live II / Groot

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
The Dutch violinist Jeroen de Groot (1961) studied with Herman Krebbers at the Amsterdam Conservatory. Among many other prizes he won, one stood out: in 1985 he was the winner of the National Violin Competition Oskar Back Competition. As a result, he received a scholarship, which enabled him to continue his studies with Sándor Végh in Salzburg and with Ivry Gitlis in Paris. On this album he performs solo works by Bach and Ysaÿe, recorded during live concerts in Foligno (Italy) and Middelburg (NL). Very special is the performance of Bach's famous Toccata and Fugue in A minor, BWV 565, which is widely known as organ work, but here transcribed for solo violin by Bruce Lefriche. The Belgian violinist/composer and conductor Eugène Ysaÿe (1858-1931) was one of the most famous violinists of his time. The six solo violin sonatas opus 27, are Eugène Ysaÿe's most famous, performed and recorded works. He has dedicated all these six sonatas to a violinist that was famous at the time and adapted them to their special style. Ysaÿe was also inspired by Bach, completing the circle of the chosen repertoire.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 18, 2022

  • Catalog Number: ZEF9687

  • UPC: 8717774570838

  • Label: Zefir Records

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

  • Performer: Jeroen de Groot