Sword in the Soul / Waldron, London Choral Sinfonia

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

In an album that includes world-premiere recordings, Michael Waldron and the London Choral Sinfonia perform Francis Grier’s modern-day Passion, Sword in the Soul, to texts by Rowan Williams narrated by Simon Callow, Samantha Bond and Adrian Peacock. Alongside Grier’s Sword in the Soul, we hear Lux Eterna, the profoundly moving choral setting of Elgar’s famous ‘Nimrod’ from his Enigma Variations, as well as a rarely-heard piece by Elgar recorded only once before: the intensely poignant We Will Remember Them, a beautiful and simple a cappella arrangement of a famous text. The album also features music by contemporary composer David Bednall, and LCS’s Composer in Residence Owain Park.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 07, 2023

  • Catalog Number: ORC100223

  • UPC: 5060189562237

  • Label: Orchid Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Late Romantic, Contemporary

  • Composer: Edgar Bainton, David Bednall, Edward Elgar, Francis Grier, Owain Park, Rowan Williams

  • Conductor: Michael Waldron

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: London Choral Sinfonia

  • Performer: Simon Callow, Samantha Bond, James Orford, Brian O'Kane, Adrian Peacock