Barmotin: Piano Works, Vol. 3 / Williams

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
A student of Rimsky-Korsakov and Balakirev and a contemporary of Stravinsky and Rachmaninov, Semyon Alexeyevich Barmotin (1877–1939) flourished in the years before the Russian Revolution. His was probably the first Ballade for solo piano written by a Russian composer and this large-scale work exemplifies his perfect control of expansive form, Lisztian virtuosic impulse and thematic variety. The two sets of Morceaux enshrine other essential elements of his art – folkloric influences, crystalline sonorities and true expressive depth. Christopher Williams’ third instalment in this acclaimed cycle features all world première recordings.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 10, 2022

  • Catalog Number: GP866

  • UPC: 747313986620

  • Label: Grand Piano

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Semyon Barmotin

  • Performer: Christopher Williams