Baroque Edition: The Artistry of Erik Bosgraaf - Music for Recorder

Regular price $28.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

“That man can do anything!” exclaimed the late, legendary recorder player and conductor Frans Brüggen when asked by Tijdschrift Oude Muziek about his young colleague Erik Bosgraaf. “He had an upcoming concert of the music of Van Eyck at the Amsterdam Amstel church and sent me an invitation. His playing was superb, so inspired and technically impeccable.” It was Brüggen’s birthday, but that didn’t stop him attending. When soon afterwards Brüggen conducted Bach’s Actus tragicus (Cantata BWV106) in the Amsterdam Concertgebouw, he invited Bosgraaf to play the first recorder part.

Erik Bosgraaf’s quick rise to fame is directly attributable to his debut on Brilliant Classics: a three-disc box devoted to Jacob van Eyck’s (1589/90–1657) “Der Fluyten Lust-hof” (The Recorder’s Garden of Delight). Released in 2007 on the 350th anniversary of the Utrecht composer’s death, the recording was made at the request of the Van Eyck scholar Thiemo Wind who said he had never before come across a recorder player with so much understanding of this virtuoso solo repertoire and such a capacity for playing it: the sprezzatura, the casual ease and spontaneity this music, originating in improvisation, demands. The set was a worldwide hit, even winning over some diehard recorder haters. Erik Bosgraaf was clearly one of the instruments greatest players. This 5-album set offers a sample of Erik Bosgraaf’s achievements in the field of baroque music, beginning with Van Eyck and embracing his milestone recordings of Bach, Handel, Vivaldi and Telemann.


The Dutch recorder player has now proven himself and is regarded internationally as the most important recorder player of the moment. He has already scored highly with recordings of Der Fluyten Lusthof by Jacob van Eyk, the recorder concertos by Bach and Vivaldi and the sonatas by Handel and Telemann. With Barock Edition the best of these records has now been summarized on a five-CD box. An inspiring collection that will transform even the biggest recorder hater into an enthusiast.

-- Klassieke Zaken

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 22, 2021

  • Catalog Number: BRI96440

  • UPC: 5028421964409

  • Label: Brilliant Classics

  • Number of Discs: 5

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Antonio Vivaldi, Georg Philipp Telemann, George Frideric Handel, Jacob van Eyck, Johann Sebastian Bach, Thiemo Wind

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Cordevento

  • Performer: Erik Bosgraaf, Francesco Corti, Izhar Elias