1. Beach: Complete Works for Piano Duo / Duo Genova & Dimitrov - ArkivMusic

Beach: Complete Works for Piano Duo / Duo Genova & Dimitrov

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Fresh off a successful Rachmaninoff project, Duo Genova & Dimitrov turns to the American composer Amy Beach. Her compositional oeuvre marks a high point in the phase of consolidation experienced by U.S. art music between the Civil War and World War I. Amy Beach was not the first American woman who composed, nor the first to earn money with her compositions, but she created a stir in the music world by forging ahead into genres in which previously only men had garnered wide acclaim. However, it was above all the piano that was Amy Beach’s lifelong companion.

She honored her instrument with solo compositions in a total of twenty-six opus numbers distributed equally over her entire compositional career, from the 1880s to the 1930s. Even though her music for piano four hands and for two pianos is limited to a few compositions, they all attest to their author’s talent. The original version of Amy Beach’s Variations on Balkan Themes op. 60 is her most extensive composition for piano two hands and the one that is the most challenging in playing technique. At the same time, the variations represent one of her most significant endorsements of folk music.


Genova and Dimitrov perform this technically demanding and richly imagined music with enormous affection and flair, conjuring its atmospheres and textures seamlessly, as if with one mind. A must-hear album for all who want to explore Beach’s highly rewarding output.

-- BBC Music Magazine

Aglika Genova and Liuben Dimitrov are a polished duo, unfailingly musical, with an ensemble precision that sits well with their two superbly matched instruments. The disc, very well recorded, comes with an exhaustively detailed booklet and is a valuable addition to the Beach discography.

-- Gramophone

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 14, 2022

  • Catalog Number: 555453-2

  • UPC: 761203545322

  • Label: CPO

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Beach, Amy Beach

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Piano Duo Genova & Dimitrov