Beethoven: Complete Piano Concertos / Mustonen, Tapiola Sinfonietta

Regular price $24.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Ondine celebrates Beethoven’s 250th anniversary of birth by re-issuing Olli Mustonen’s Beethoven cycle with the Tapiola Sinfonietta. The three volumes were originally released in three separate volumes from 2007-2009. Mustonen, described by The Sunday Times as “living dream of pianism”, is known for delivering fresh and visionary approach to standard works – this is evident in these masterful recordings of Beethoven’s concertos. Mustonen is a particularly fitting exponent for Beethoven’s music as the composer himself was also both visionary and revolutionary in his approach to tradition. The recording of Piano Concerto No. 1 includes Mustonen’s own cadenzas. Beethoven’s own Piano Concerto arrangement of his Violin Concerto is also featured – one of Mustonen’s signature pieces.


Mustonen plays the five concertos of a piece, not starting out with Mozartean elegance in the first two and building up to mature Beethoven somewhere in Concerto No. 3. He attacks every bar vigorously and with decisive intent. In my experience, no one since Mikhail Pletnev’s highly original and at times eccentric cycle on DG has sounded so personal in music that too often trips off the fingers with glib sameness.

My overall defense of a cycle that will strike other listeners as totally arbitrary comes down to Mustonen being a composer, not a touring pianist playing subscription concerts. These are a composer’s responses to Beethoven, and Mustonen has the fingers to express them with confident assurance and at times with dazzling flourishes. In my corner this release is one of the most refreshing of the Beethoven year.

– Fanfare

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 01, 2020

  • Catalog Number: ODE 1359-2T

  • UPC: 761195135921

  • Label: Ondine

  • Number of Discs: 3

  • Period: Classical

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Conductor: Olli Mustonen

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Tapiola Sinfonietta

  • Performer: Olli Mustonen


  1. Concertos for Piano and Orchestra Nos. 1-5

    Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

    Ensemble: Tapiola Sinfonietta

    Performer: Olli Mustonen (Piano)

    Conductor: Olli Mustonen

  2. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in D, Op. 61a

    Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

    Ensemble: Tapiola Sinfonietta

    Performer: Olli Mustonen (Piano)