Beethoven: Complete Symphonies / Mehta, Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino

Regular price $29.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Beethoven’s symphonic cycle is one of the most quintessential in the Western classical canon. They chart a course from the influence of Haydn and Classical models in the early symphonies; through works of startling innovation and the birth of Romanticism; to his monumental Ninth Symphony for soloists; chorus and orchestra. Zubin Mehta conducts the Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino in these live recordings from 2021/22.


The 87-year-old Indian maestro cuts a fine figure and retains the gravitas and the authoritative presence that made him one of his generation’s indispensable symphony conductors, when he led among others at different times the symphony orchestras of Los Angeles, New York, and Israel.

Zubin Mehta conducts seated, but this does in no way affect the sound he elicits from the Florence musicians. His beat is clear, his conductor’s visual language communicative. The energy he possesses and transfers to his musicians is concentrated and not for a moment dissipated by theatrics.

The Maggio Musicale Fiorentino do themselves proud under Mehta’s baton. The woodwinds produce lovely sounds in the early symphonies and in the Pastorale. The brass section creates a burnished sound that lends gleam to the finale of the Eroica. The strings play as one, with flawless intonation and a tone most appropriate to the Classical DNA of Beethoven’s slow movements.

The engineering of Claudio Speranzini and Antonio Martino, the video production of Tiziano Mancini and Metis, and the informative notes by Danilo Profumo enhance the six hours of pleasurable provided by the Dynamic release.

-- All About the Arts

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 15, 2023

  • Catalog Number: DYN-CDS7950.05

  • UPC: 8007144079505

  • Label: Dynamic

  • Number of Discs: 3

  • Period: Classical

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Conductor: Zubin Mehta

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Orchestra e Coro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino

  • Performer: Mandy Fredrich, Marie-Claude Chappuis, AJ Glueckert, Tareq Nazmi


  1. Symphonies Nos. 1-9

    Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

    Ensemble: Orchestra e Coro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino

    Performer: Mandy Fredrich (Soprano), Marie-Claude Chappuis (Mezzo-Soprano), AJ Gluecker (Tenor), Tareq Nazmi (Bass)

    Conductor: Zubin Mehta