Beethoven: Missa Solemnis / Herreweghe, Collegium Vocale Gent

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The Collegium Vocale Gent and Orchestre des Champs-Elysées interpret Beethoven's Missa Solemnis for PHI. This major work of the sacred repertoire, high on the list alongside Bach's Mass in B minor and the Mozart Requiem, is Beethoven's longest work and assuredly the one that demanded the most work. The composer even considered the Mass his finest work. Philippe Herreweghe shares this opinion and judges the Missa Solemnis to be one of the apogees in the history of classical music. With four superb soloists, a refined chorus and orchestra, Philippe Herreweghe invites us to a thoroughly transcendental experience.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 08, 2013

  • Catalog Number: LPH007

  • UPC: 5400439000070

  • Label: Phi

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Conductor: Philippe Herreweghe

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Champs-Élysées Orchestra, Ghent Collegium Vocale

  • Performer: Benjamin Hulett, David Wilson-Johnson, Gerhild Romberger, Marlis Petersen


  1. Missa solemnis in D major, Op. 123

    Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

    Ensemble: Champs-Élysées Orchestra, Ghent Collegium Vocale

    Performer: Benjamin Hulett (Tenor), Marlis Petersen (Soprano), Gerhild Romberger (Alto), David Wilson-Johnson (Baritone)

    Conductor: Philippe Herreweghe