Beethoven: Missa solemnis / Suzuki, Bach Collegium Japan

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Beethoven began composing the Missa solemnis in 1819, when he learned that his patron (and pupil) Archduke Rudolph was going to be appointed Cardinal Archbishop of Olmütz. The plan was for the mass to be ready for performance at the enthronement celebrations in March 1820, but one year proved to be too little time. It wasn’t until almost three years later, in January 1823, that Beethoven was able to complete the work. As might be expected, it was unparalleled in every respect – although composed for use during church services, even Beethoven’s contemporaries found that it exceeded the bounds of the genre. Beethoven himself was quite aware of both the dimensions and the importance of the work: in a letter he described it as ‘my greatest work’. It is also a work which over its course encompasses great contrasts: from the solemnity of the Kyrie and the intense excitement at the opening of the Gloria to the disturbing intimations of war during the closing Dona nobis pacem.

Originally founded with the aim of performing the choral works of Bach, the Bach Collegium Japan and Masaaki Suzuki are now taking another great leap, after their recent release of Mozart’s Great Mass in C minor. Described as ‘refreshingly open-hearted, spontaneous and natural’ their interpretation received a 2017 Gramophone Award. Joined by an eminent quartet of vocal soloists, the team now applies its expertise in period performance to Beethoven’s masterpiece.

,/br> REVIEWS:

The performance has warmth, energy and an exact feeling for tempo. The Japanese chorus rise fearlessly to Beethoven’s demands. A memorable musical and emotional experience.

– Sunday Times (UK)

This recording of Ludwig van Beethoven's Missa Solemnis, Op. 123 offers a revelatory performance that is so clear in its textures, lively in its tempos, meticulous in its execution, and detailed in its parts that this monument of western choral music seems to have shaken off all the mossy accretions of nearly two centuries. Highly recommended.

– All Music Guide

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 02, 2018

  • Catalog Number: BIS-2321

  • UPC: 7318599923215

  • Label: BIS

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Conductor: Masaaki Suzuki

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bach Collegium Japan

  • Performer: Ann-Helen Moen, Benjamin Bevan, James Gilchrist, Roxana Constantinescu


  1. Missa solemnis in D major, Op. 123

    Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

    Ensemble: Bach Collegium Japan

    Performer: Benjamin Bevan (Baritone), Roxana Constantinescu (Alto), James Gilchrist (Tenor), Ann-Helen Moen (Soprano)

    Conductor: Masaaki Suzuki