Beethoven: Piano Concertos No 4 & 5 / Oppitz, Janowski

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
"The manner is a forthright one, but Oppitz is no boor. The playing is never overtly espressivo, but within the parameters of Oppitz’s style there is ample recognition of Beethoven’s expressive intent in dolce and pianissimo passages...The recording of the Fourth Concerto is admirably explicit, the piano sound clear and forward but not inappropriately so, the orchestra nicely observed...I would not have thought this disc competitive with the best of its rivals – but it is certainly not without interest where Oppitz himself is concerned."

- Richard Osborne, Gramophone [6/1997]

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: RCA68417

  • UPC: 090266841721

  • Label: Sony

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Conductor: Marek Janowski

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra

  • Performer: Gerhard Oppitz