Beethoven: Aufgelebt - Piano Concertos Opp. 58 & 61 / Gvetadze, Levy, Phíon Orchestra of and Overijssel

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
The album Aufgelebt is all about revival, rebirth and recreation, the promise of new beginnings. Beethoven worked on his Piano Concerto No. 4 and the Op. 61a (piano version of a violin concerto) in the same period of his life. Both concertos were neglected and would have been forgotten had it not been for the attention of Felix Mendelssohn, who revived the Fourth Piano Concerto in 1836 and conducted the violin concerto, in 1844. Since then, these two concertos have been considered to be masterpieces of classical music literature. The Violin Concerto had yet another chance of rebirth long before young Joachim’s success. After attending the premier of the piece, Muzio Clementi asked Beethoven to transcribe the work for piano and orchestra. His wish was promptly fulfilled by the composer, who at the same time enriched the Concerto with authentic cadenzas, of which the first - in the First Movement - is very special as the piano is accompanied by timpani!

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 25, 2022

  • Catalog Number: CC 72820

  • UPC: 608917282023

  • Label: Challenge Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Classical Era

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Conductor: Benjamin Levy

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Phíon Orchestra of Gelderland and Overijssel

  • Performer: Nino Gvetadze