1. Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 in D Minor, Op. 125 / Furtwängler, Bayreuth Festival Orchestra and Chorus - ArkivMusic

Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 / Furtwängler, Bayreuth Festival Orchestra

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Seventy years ago, on the 29th July 1951, Wilhelm Furtwängler conducted Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 at a concert marking the reopening of the Bayreuth Festival after seven years of silence following the Second World War. It was a momentous occasion, and the concert was broadcast by Bavarian Radio and transmitted across the world, for instance by Swedish Radio. Using the analogue mono tape as digitized by Swedish Radio, the present disc reproduces the broadcast as it would have been heard by listeners in Sweden: we have chosen to not change anything, not to ‘brush up’ the sound, not to clean and shorten the pauses or omit audience noises within the music, but to keep the original as it was. In this way we hope to recreate the feeling of actually sitting in front of an old radio in 1951, listening to this concert – a true historical document.


Nothing else in the realms of recorded music is quite like it and I would urge you to share the experience...I’m not claiming that this performance will suit every mood or even every taste, but if and when it does hit target it will leave you changed for ever.

-- Gramophone (Editor's Choice, March 2022)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 07, 2022

  • Catalog Number: BIS-9060

  • UPC: 7318599990606

  • Label: BIS

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Classical

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Conductor: Wilhelm Furtwängler

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bayreuth Festival Orchestra


  1. Welcoming Radio Announcements in German, French, English and Swedish

  2. Programme Announcement - Applause

  3. Symphony No. 9 in D Minor, Op. 125, "Choral"

    Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

    Ensemble: Bayreuth Festival Orchestra, Bayreuth Festival Chorus

    Performer: Elisabeth Schwarzkopf (Soprano), Elisabeth Höngen (Mezzo Soprano), Hans Hopf (Tenor), Otto Edelmann (Bass)

    Conductor: Wilhelm Furtwängler

  4. Applause - Closing Remarks in Swedish and German