Beethoven: The Symphonies / Thielemann, Vienna Philharmonic

Regular price $23.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Dubbed “The Beethoven Cycle of the 21st Century”, this cycle was recorded live in concert in the Goldener Saal of the Vienna Musikverein between 2008 and 2010 by the Vienna Philharmonic under the baton of Thielemann.


Anyone who grew up with Herbert von Karajan, Karl Böhm or Eugen Jochum's recordings will feel at home in the musical world Thielemann creates...The Third, the Eroica, has a sense of purpose and dynamism, just as the scale and scope of the Ninth is never in doubt.

– The Guardian (UK)

Thielemann is a musician who is not only conservative but thought-prokovingly original. His performances will appeal to listeners who long for a return to interpretative values closer to the very individual Beethoven of Furtwangler or Mengelberg.

– International Record Review

One of the most joyous, infectious accounts I have ever heard of the Second, full of drive, impish wit and manic ecstasy. The orchestra is obviously having a high old time.

– MusicWeb International

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 88875112822

  • UPC: 888751128224

  • Label: Sony

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Conductor: Christian Thielemann

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra