Berg: Wozzeck / Segerstam, Falkman, Dalayman, Qvale

Regular price $29.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This comes close to being a giant-killer among Wozzeck recordings; I have a few reservations but I admire this new version greatly and recommend it heartily... Carl-Johan Falkman's singing of the role is... remarkable -- few Wozzecks are as frightening as he is in the scene after the murder... Leif Segerstam's handling of the score is admirably pointed and flexible... [Katarina Dalayman's] is the finest performance here, vehement and characterful but beautifully sung... I cannot imagine anyone who loves this opera being disappointed by this newcomer; at its price the phrase 'super bargain' hardly does justice to it. - Michael Oliver, GRAMOPHONE

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 01, 2002

  • Catalog Number: 8660076-77

  • UPC: 730099607629

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Alban Berg

  • Conductor: Leif Segerstam

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Royal Stockholm Opera Chorus, Royal Stockholm Opera Orchestra

  • Performer: Carl-John Falkmann, Henry Törnblom, Jens Malmkvist, Katarina Dalayman, Klas Hedlund, Lennart Stregaard, Marianne Eklöf, Niklas Björling Rygert, Ola Eliasson, Sten Wahlund, Ulrik Qvale


  1. Wozzeck, Op. 7

    Composer: Alban Berg

    Ensemble: Royal Stockholm Opera Chorus, Royal Stockholm Opera Orchestra

    Performer: Katarina Dalayman (Soprano), Marianne Eklöf (Mezzo Soprano), Ola Eliasson (Baritone), Carl-John Falkmann (Baritone), Klas Hedlund (Tenor), Jens Malmkvist (Bass Baritone), Ulrik Qvale (Tenor), Niklas Björling Rygert (Tenor), Lennart Stregaard (Tenor), Henry Törnblom (Voice), Sten Wahlund (Baritone)

    Conductor: Leif Segerstam