Berlioz: Beatrice et Benedict / Manacorda, London Philharmonic [Blu-ray]

Regular price $42.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Through the eye of French director Laurent Pelly this expression of Berlioz's undying admiration for the Bard - his adaptation of Much Ado about Nothing as an opera comique - becomes ''an elegant treatise on love and music designed in shades of grey with 50's-era costumes'' (Sunday Express). Housed by designer Barbara de Limburg in a series of oversized boxes, it's ''terribly chic, terribly pretty'' (The Spectator). Soaring over the ''warmly graceful playing of the London Philharmonic'', Paul Appleby sings ''attractively'' as Benedict and Stephanie d'Oustrac ''makes a marvellously wiry and fiery Beatrice, singing with charm and acting with gusto'' (The Telegraph).

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 28, 2017

  • UPC: 809478072195

  • Catalog Number: OA BD7219D

  • Label: Opus Arte

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Hector Berlioz

  • Conductor: Antonello Manacorda

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Glyndebourne Chorus, London Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Frédéric Caton, Katarina Bradic, Lionel Lhote, Paul Appleby, Philippe Sly, Sophie Karthäuser, Stéphanie d' Oustrac


  1. Béatrice et Bénédict

    Composer: Hector Berlioz

    Ensemble: Glyndebourne Chorus, London Philharmonic Orchestra

    Performer: Paul Appleby (Tenor), Katarina Bradic (Alto), Frédéric Caton (Baritone), Sophie Karthäuser (Soprano), Lionel Lhote (Baritone), Stéphanie d' Oustrac (Mezzo Soprano), Philippe Sly (Bass Baritone)

    Conductor: Antonello Manacorda