Bertalotti, Hely, Hume & Ortiz: Ricercare e Canzoni / Cicchitti

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This release is a journey through the history of the solo viola da gamba, starting with its birth (1553) and finishing at the end of 17th Century. Besides the pieces by Diego Ortiz and Tobias Hume, there are some world premiere recordings of music by Benjamin Hely and Angelo Bertalotti. Matteo Cicchitti is the leader of Musica Elegentia, already responsible for a previous Wagenseil disc on Challenge Classics (CC 72896). Pieces were selected in the light of their austere and meditative mood. They perfectly match the character of the remote 12th Century Abruzzian church that hosted the musician and the strictness of the 'live' recording process that required only lightest editing.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: August 19, 2022

  • Catalog Number: CC 72918

  • UPC: 0608917291827

  • Label: Challenge Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Angelo Michele Bertalotti, Benjamin Hely, Tobias Hume, Diego Ortiz

  • Performer: Matteo Cicchitti