Blech: The Alpine King & the Misanthrope / Ward, Aachen Symphony

Regular price $22.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Around 1902 Leo Blech nabbed the subject of the “original romantic-comic magic” play by Viennese theater manager/actor/playwright Ferdinand Raimund, had it streamlined, and turned it into his fifth opera. A cantankerous misanthrope terrorizes family and servants with his paranoid mistrust. He’s only cured when faced with his own behavior courtesy of supernatural role reversal. Highbrow opera meets folksy farce with unexpectedly gorgeous, splendidly orchestrated music somewhere between Wagner and Humperdinck. The premiere at the Dresden Court Theater was a sensational success. Then all of Blech’s music was banned and once the Nazi horror was over, it never came back. Now you can hear what we missed.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 02, 2022

  • Catalog Number: C5478

  • UPC: 845221054780

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Leo Blech

  • Conductor: Christopher Ward

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Symphony Orchestra Aachen, Opera Chorus Aachen

  • Performer: Ronan Collett, Hrolfur Saemundsson, Sonja Gornik, Irina Popova, Tilmann Unger, Anne-Aurore Cochet, Hyunhan Hwang, Pawel Lawreszuk, Fanny Lustaud, Anna Graf


  1. Alpenkönig und Menschenfeind (The Alpine King and the Misanthrope), Op. 14

    Composer: Leo Blech

    Ensemble: Aachen Symphony Orchestra, Aachen Opera Choir

    Conductor: Christopher Ward