Boireann: Music for Flute & Piano / Buckley, Coulthard, Halnan, Appleton

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Boireann features two compositions specifically crafted for this release. "Five Études for Two Flutes" reimagines earlier pieces for two violins, demonstrating Buckley's ability to transpose musical ideas across different instrumental settings. "In Memoriam Doris Keogh," a three-movement piece for flute and piano, reflects the broad musical interests of Buckley's flute teacher, Doris Keogh, offering a touching tribute to her influence. John Buckley's illustrious career as a composer has earned him recognition worldwide. This new album is a testament to his deep connection with the flute, spanning over fifty years. From his early studies with the legendary Doris Keogh at the Royal Irish Academy of Music in Dublin to his most recent work, "In Memoriam Doris Keogh," completed in 2022, the album captures the evolution of Buckley's flute-centric repertoire. This collection superbly showcases his versatility as a composer. The collaboration with talented flautists Emma Coulthard, Emma Halnan, and pianist David Appleton adds an extra layer of brilliance to the album, making it a captivating and enriching musical experience.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 13, 2023

  • Catalog Number: MEX77110

  • UPC: 809730711022

  • Label: Metier

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Contemporary

  • Composer: John Buckley

  • Performer: Emma Coulthard, Emma Halnan, David Appleton