Ukrainian Masters - Bortkiewicz, Kosenko, & Skoryk: Violin Sonatas / Ivakhiv, Beck

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The three violin sonatas by Bortkiewicz, Kosenko and Skoryk featured on this album transcend the cultural upheavals from which these three Ukrainian composers emerged. Performed by Ukrainian violinist Solomiya Ivakhiv and the American pianist Steven Beck. Kosenko’s Violin Sonata in A minor is a world premiere recording.


These are expectedly committed performances throughout. Ivakhiv has an excellent accompanist in Beck who is put through a variety of musical paces. The pieces here require a great deal of virtuosic display as well as careful interaction for shaping of phrases. Both musicians are on the same page here interpretively and these gestures come across well here. Ivakihiv has a rich sound in her lower register here and the virtuosic aspects of the pieces are handled beautifully as well. There is a great sense of energy throughout that enhances the intensity of the performances. The album is worth tracking down for exploring rarer repertoire that is given its due here. The acoustic adds to the warmth of the recording as well with the instruments set well within the overall sound picture.

-- SAKENNEDYMUSIC (Steven Kennedy)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 23, 2024

  • Catalog Number: 8579146

  • UPC: 747313914678

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Sergei Bortkiewicz, Viktor Kosenko, Myroslav Skoryk

  • Performer: Solomiya Ivakhiv, Steven Beck


  1. Violin Sonata in A Minor, Op. 18

    Composer: Viktor Kosenko

    Performer: Solomiya Ivakhiv (Violin), Steven Beck (Piano)

  2. Violin Sonata No. 2

    Composer: Myroslav Skoryk

    Performer: Solomiya Ivakhiv (Violin), Steven Beck (Piano)

  3. Violin Sonata in G Minor, Op. 26

    Composer: Sergei Bortkiewicz

    Performer: Solomiya Ivakhiv (Violin), Steven Beck (Piano)