Bowen, Britten & Holst: Chamber Music with Viola / Yue Yu, Armstrong, Hewitt

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

An accomplished horn and viola player, York Bowen is said to have preferred the tone of the viola to the violin. Inspired by the virtuosity and vibrato style of the distinguished violist, Lionel Tertis, Bowen wrote several works for him and became his accompanist. Bowen’s subtle shifts of key and heartfelt melodies are well in evidence here, including the powerful and poised Rhapsody, Op.149, considered to be one of his most important works. Gustav Holst’s daughter Imogen is represented here by the open-air freshness of her Four Easy Pieces and the terse, laconic narrative of her Duo for Viola and Piano. Britten’s spiky Waltz is full of 1930s wit.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 18, 2022

  • Catalog Number: 8574150

  • UPC: 747313415076

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: York Bowen, Benjamin Britten, Imogen Holst

  • Performer: Yue Yu, Jeffrey Armstrong, Anthony Hewitt