1. Brahms: Clarinet Sonatas (Flute & Piano Versions) / Schütz, Prinz

Brahms: Clarinet Sonatas (Flute & Piano Versions) / Schütz, Prinz

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Brahms had already decided to retire as a composer when, on a journey to Meiningen in 1891, he was inspired and challenged by clarinetist Richard Mühlfeld’s beautiful playing. The two Sonatas, Op.120are part of a late flowering that resulted in some of Brahms’s finest chamber music. Brahms himself explored these pieces beyond the clarinet, and Karl-Heinz Schütz’s arrangements are based on the composer’s own alternative versions, seeking out the ideal of two equally matched instruments in constant dialogue. Also included is a selection of ‘songs without words’, further expanding the flute repertoire with arrangements of these much-loved Lieder.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: August 13, 2021

  • Catalog Number: 8574291

  • UPC: 747313429172

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Johannes Brahms

  • Performer: Karl-Heinz Schütz, Maria Prinz