Bruckner: Symphony No. 2 (1877/92) / Poschner, Bruckner Orchestra Linz

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

"What nonsense”, grumbled Otto Dessoff after a read-through (to determine its repertoire-worthiness for the Vienna Philharmonic) of Bruckner’s Second Symphony. This doomed the work to a life of revision. The first version was written in 1871 when the Second was still the Third Symphony because the Zeroëth, then still the Second, hadn’t been annulled yet. Despite Bruckner managing a well-enough regarded premiere of this version, he set about to rework it during his period of revision in 1877 where he and his eager helpers set about to radically trim any perceived fat. The result, which we know as the second version, changed most in the Finale, where a full 193 bars were pruned. This version follows Bruckner’s cuts unflinchingly which cannot, however, alter the Symphony’s expansive proto-Brucknerian structure first heard here. And then that marvelous Adagio in this lyrical sister of the First Symphony!

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 01, 2023

  • Catalog Number: C8089

  • UPC: 845221080895

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Anton Bruckner

  • Conductor: Markus Poschner

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bruckner Orchester Linz