Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 / Honeck, Pittsburgh Symphony

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Anton Bruckner is known as a deeply religious composer whose Catholic spirituality is prominent in his music, particularly his later symphonies. However, his Symphony No. 4 in E-flat major ("Romantic") is one of his most secular, most influenced by nature and most popular works. The Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and Music Director Manfred Honeck offer a bold new interpretation of this great music, breaking Bruckner out of the strictly interpreted box in which he is often placed. Here, the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and Honeck present the 1878/80 version, the same version that was used for the symphony's premiere in 1881.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 10, 2015

  • Catalog Number: FR-713SACD

  • UPC: 030911271329

  • Label: Reference Recordings

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Anton Bruckner

  • Conductor: Manfred Honeck

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra