Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 / Poschner, ORF Vienna Radio Symphony

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Bruckner’s frantic revisions of his symphonies Nos. 3, 4, and 8 were borne out of his disappointment with Hermann Levi rejecting the original version of the 8th symphony. Helping in this large-scale revamping effort were former Bruckner-students Franz and Joseph Schalk, Ferdinand Löwe, Max von Oberleithner, and Cyrill Hynai, which resulted in these versions’ reputation – and especially that of the last version of the 4th – being varnished as something not quite Echt-Bruckner.

It wasn’t until the discovery of photographs of the 1888 version’s manuscript score and the subsequent publication of Benjamin Korstvedt’s edition thereof that it became clear: This late edition really did reflect Bruckner’s intentions. To ears familiar with the still better-known 1881 version, the result might sound mystifying, even troubling, but it also surprises with many particularly exquisite passages!

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 05, 2023

  • Catalog Number: C8085

  • UPC: 845221080857

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Anton Bruckner

  • Conductor: Markus Poschner

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra


  1. Symphony No. 4

    Composer: Anton Bruckner

    Ensemble: ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra

    Conductor: Markus Poschner