Elgar, Mendelssohn, Price, Raaff, Castelnuovo-Tedesco: Soundscapes / Opdam, Ullman

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Movements in time and sounds in space: While visual art and music share inspirational sources, they often flourish in different realms. This release circles around the idea of bringing (back) visual elements into the musical experience. The term “soundscapes” refers to acoustic environments created by contingent phenomena. Sounds create scapes, evoking visual experiences. The compositions on this recording are capable of creating landscapes and seascapes in their own right. The three sonatas by Edward Elgar, Felix Mendelssohn, and Robin de Raaff originate environments that allow juxtapositions, pairings with three short pieces by Florence Price, Felix Mendelssohn, and Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 18, 2022

  • Catalog Number: CC 72893

  • UPC: 608917289329

  • Label: Challenge Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn

  • Performer: Tosca Opdam