Falla, Haydn: Cello-Konzerte / Shirvani, Melozzi, Orchestra Notturna Clandestina - ArkivMusic

Falla, Haydn, Tchaikovsky: Cello Concertos / Shirvani, Melozzi, Orchestra Notturna Clandestina

Regular price $22.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
“I imagined a 360 degree discovery voyage of the cello, with the intention of showcasing the full range of its possibilities through a varied and contrasting repertoire. Beginning with great pillars of the cello repertoire like Haydn's C major Concerto, which enhances the virtuoso possibilities of the cello with its classical language, and Tchaikovsky's Rococo Variations displaying maximum romanticism, it passes by fiery early twentieth century Spain, and approaches the world of contemporary music with Childhood, composed by Enrico Melozzi. Childhood, a work dedicated to me, explores in particular the entire range of timbres the cello has to offer, from the lowest octave to the most daringly high registers. I always think that the cello is the human voice of the performer and it is for this reason that the idea arose to include instrumental versions of works for voice. In Giovanni Sollima's reckless version for cello and orchestra of "Una voce poco fa" from The Barber of Seville. I adore the irony Rossini uses in the role of Rosina. The melancholy of a Persian melody, a popular theme passed down orally by my Iranian grandfather, orchestrated by Enrico Melozzi, devours the cello with its poignance and sensuality.” -Leila Shirvani

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 07, 2022

  • Catalog Number: BM319322

  • UPC: 4014513038340

  • Label: Antes

  • Conductor: Enrico Melozzi

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Orchestra Notturna Clandestina

  • Performer: Leila Shirvani