Serebrier: Chamber Music / Wall, Magill, Rinando, Carbone, Darvarova - ArkivMusic

Serebrier: Chamber Music / Wall, Magill, Rinando, Carbone, Darvarova

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
José Serebrier (b.1938) established himself as a significant composer as far back as the 1950s, with over 100 published works. Serebrier composed music and conducted orchestras since early childhood, conceiving his Opus 1 - Sonata for solo violin at the age of 9, and making his conducting debut at age 11. Serebrier’s Symphony No.1 (written in just 2 weeks at age 17), was world-premiered by Stokowski, who later also conducted two other works by Serebrier. For 2 consecutive years, George Szell named José Serebrier Composer-in-Residence of the Cleveland Orchestra, where Serebrier composed important experimental works (such as his avant-garde concerto Nueve, written for double bassist Gary Karr). Starting with his first-ever work, his Sonata for Solo Violin, Op. 1, José Serebrier has been a major composer of historical importance, whose oeuvre is complex, multi-layered, sophisticated and endlessly inspiring. This album presents seven chamber works by José Serebrier, five of which as world premiere recordings. Serebrier’s luminous lyricism, resplendent melodic language and fascinating harmonies are already evident even in his Op.1 violin sonata, a veritable masterpiece. In addition to Serebrier’s Violin Sonata and the Fantasy for Solo Flute at dusk, in shadows... this album also presents the world premiere recording of Serebrier’s Sonata for Solo Viola, as well as the world premiere recording of his Suite for Solo Cello in 5 movements. Three other world premiere recordings of works by Serebrier are also included: If I Can Stop One Heart From Breaking for Horn, Violin and Narrator (after Emily Dickinson’s poem), M.M.P. for Flute and Cello (a delightful short duet) and Nostalgia (transcribed for Solo Violin by Elmira Darvarova).

Product Description:

  • Release Date: December 03, 2021

  • Catalog Number: AF2104

  • UPC: 051497297978

  • Label: Affetto Records

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: José Serebrier

  • Performer: Elmira Darvarova