Chopin, Rachmaninoff: Complete Preludes / Algarra

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
This recording should be seen in that manner: as a beginning, a solo recording debut by Alejandro Algarra in which he confronts two colossi of the instrument. It is quite a recording milestone to tackle these two essentials. A real challenge both for him as a performer and for IBS Classical as a record label. So please do not be deceived by the apparent simplicity and unpretentiousness of the term prelude. Quite the opposite, in fact. Nor should a prelude be understood in this case as a prolegomenon to a major piece (“Preludes to what?”, as André Gide wondered in his famous Notes sur Chopin), but as individual works which, taken as a whole, represent a major technical and interpretative challenge; undoubtedly one of the all-time highs of piano literature.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 11, 2022

  • Catalog Number: IBS-242021

  • UPC: 8436597700252

  • Label: IBS Classical

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Frédéric Chopin

  • Performer: Alejandro Algarra