Cilea: Adriana Lecouvreur / Harding, Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino

Regular price $26.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Francesco Cilea’s Adriana Lecouvreur was inspired by the real-life story of a celebrated actress at the Comédie-Française who was much admired by Voltaire. Hailed as a masterpiece, the opera was triumphantly staged in cities around the world after its premiere in 1902. The dramatically effective narrative is a passionate love triangle filled with intrigue and complicated plot twists set in the gallant 18th century. Its subtle ironies and gorgeous cantabile style of music provide a perfect vehicle for the star cast in this stunning production from the Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino.


The playing is admirably sensuous: Cilea knew his Wagner and Debussy, and Harding pointedly emphasizes the debts, while also giving us plenty of Italianate passion and lyricism.

-- Gramophone (DVD/Blu-ray of the Month, January 2023)

This Maggio Musicale production from Florence boasts a genuine star at its heart...María José Siri marks out her own territory, thanks to her lustrous voice and honestly theatrical characterization...The remaining star turn here is the conductor Daniel Harding in full-on verismo mode, notably sensitive to his singers’ needs, and inspiring the Maggio Musicale orchestra to project Cilea’s score with refined virtuosity.

-- Opera

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 09, 2022

  • UPC: 730099015363

  • Catalog Number: NBD0153V

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Francesco Cilea

  • Conductor: Daniel Harding

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Coro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino

  • Performer: María José Siri, Martin Muehle, Ksenia Dudnikova


  1. Adriana Lecouvreur

    Composer: Francesco Cilea

    Ensemble: Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, Coro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino

    Performer: María José Siri (Soprano), Ksenia Dudnikova (Mezzo Soprano), Martin Muehle (Tenor), Paolo Antognetti (Tenor), Alessandro Spina (Bass), Nicola Alaimo (Baritone),

    Conductor: Daniel Harding