Companions - Contemporary Organ Music / Cooman

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

A new album of ten contemporary organ works from nine composers representing six countries. Carson Cooman presents a program of contemporary music for organ recorded on the remarkable post-romantic Thomas Gaida organ of the Pauluskirche in Ulm, Germany. The music varies widely in character and scope, from smaller character pieces and meditations to several dramatic, large-scale works. The final piece is the grand 15th organ symphony of English composer Bernard Heyes. Some like David Lasky’s ‘Peace Prayer No. 1’ have a special resonance in today’s world. Carson Cooman (b. 1982) is an American composer with a catalog of hundreds of works in many forms. As an active concert organist, Cooman specializes in the performance of contemporary music. Over 300 new compositions by more than 100 international composers have been written for him, and his organ performances can be heard on a number of album releases and more than 3,000 recordings available online. He is also composer-residence at the Memorial Church, Harvard University.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 13, 2023

  • Catalog Number: DDA25241

  • UPC: 809730524127

  • Label: Divine Art

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Contemporary

  • Composer: Thomas Aberg, Michael Calabris, Carson Cooman, Carlotta Ferrari, Bernard Heyes, David Lasky, Phil Lehenbauer, Tate Pumfrey, Carol Williams

  • Performer: Carson Cooman