Cosmography of Polyphony / Royal Wind Music

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The Royal Wind Music is a unique consort of renaissance recorders which performs on a collection of instruments especially made for the ensemble by leading flute makers from The Netherlands, Canada and Germany. The recorders range from the twelve-inch sopranino to the sub-contrabass measuring over ten feet. Because of its special sound plenty of reviews and concert-goers have described The Royal Wind Music as a ''walking'' or a ''breathing'' organ. The twelve members of the ensemble all studied at the Amsterdam Conservatoire. The new album Cosmography of Polyphony sketches the musical universe of The Royal Wind Music. Since its foundation in 1997, the ensemble has performed Renaissance music from all over Europe, particularly from England, Spain, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands and Flanders, with occasional excursions into the Baroque. In the center of the ensemble's musical universe is polyphony, the style of simultaneously combining a number of parts, each forming an individual melody and harmonizing with each other.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: PC10377

  • UPC: 7619990103771

  • Label: Pan Classics

  • Composer: Adrian Willaert, Alfonso Ferrabosco, Alonso Lobo, Anthony Holborne, Carlo Gesualdo, Hernando de Cabezón, Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck, Johann Sebastian Bach, Johannes Ockeghem, Juan del Encina, Nicolas Gombert, Osbert Parsley, Pierre Phalèse

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Royal Wind Music