Daunais: Mélodies / Woodley, Rancourt, Bourdeau, Haug, Bellavance

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

For over 50 years, French-Canadian composer Lionel Daunais (1901-1982) had an undeniable influence on the Quebec vocal scene through his many activities as a singer, composer, lyricist, stage director, radio personality, and artistic director. To commemorate the 40th anniversary of his passing, this new album is the only one where his lovely and appealing songs are performed by 5 seasoned classical musicians from Canada and Switzerland. The album features 27 songs -- sung in solo, duo, and trio -- that reflect the diversity of styles of Lionel Daunais’ award-winning writing: French art songs, pop tunes, humorous folk-inspired songs, and songs for young people. Moreover, the album includes 18 world premieres on CD, and the 28-page booklet contains biographical information, program notes, and photos. Lyrics, by French and French-Canadian poets, can be found on the album’s website, along with behind-the-scenes content.

Please visit https://lioneldaunais.com.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 01, 2022

  • Catalog Number: CMCCD 30122

  • UPC: 773811301221

  • Label: Centrediscs

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Lionel Daunais