David Merrick Presents Hits From His Broadway Hits

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

By 1964, thousands of long-playing record albums had showcased Broadway musicals and performers, but there had never been one that had celebrated a Broadway producer – until October 1, 1964 when RCA Victor released David Merrick Presents Hits from His Broadway Hits. Soon after Merrick had opened his biggest hit – Hello, Dolly! – record producer George R. Marek thought an album should celebrate the producer. Marek used his recording artists John Gary, Ann-Margret and The Merrill Staton Voices to give lush treatment to a dozen songs from a dozen different Merrick musicals – eight of which, starting with Gypsy, received Tony nominations for Best Musical. The songs range from standards (“Small World”, “Make Someone Happy”) to hits (“Take Me Along”, “Love Makes the World Go Round”) to not-famous songs that deserve another listen (“Anyone Would Love You”). This title is on CD for the first time, with new liner notes by distinguished author, theater journalist and MasterworksBroadway.com blogger, Peter Filichia.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: SONY91142

  • UPC: 886919114225

  • Label: Sony

  • Composer: Anthony Newley, Bob Merrill, Harold Rome, Harvey Schmidt, Jerry Herman, Jule Styne, Lionel Bart, Marguerite Monnot

  • Conductor: Henri René, Joe Lipman

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Merrill Staton Voices, Orchestra

  • Performer: Ann-Margret, John Gary