Rachmaninoff, Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky, Stravinsky: Conductors in Rehearsal - Mariss Jansons Vol. 1 / Jansons, Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

Regular price $32.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
What does the work of a conductor actually involve? He moves his hands, arms, his whole body, he makes use of his eyes and facial expressions - and he also sings and speaks, but only during rehearsals, of course. Being able to follow a conductor's interpretation makes for an exciting process, and conveys the basic idea behind a work far more vividly at the same time. "Conductors in Rehearsal" is a BR-KLASSIK series that takes a closer look at the “orchestral workshop”. One can experience first-hand how the conductor's wishes and instructions are implemented, how his explanations and his temperament change the resulting sound, and what concepts lie behind the interpretation of the work. Thanks to this series - which also now being released on album - the special collaboration between Mariss Jansons and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra can be documented. The first set presented by BR-KLASSIK documents four rehearsals for concerts in the Munich Philharmonie im Gasteig, taken from different phases of the collaboration between Mariss Jansons’ work with the BRSO.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 01, 2022

  • Catalog Number: BRK900931

  • UPC: 4035719009316

  • Label: BR Klassik

  • Number of Discs: 4

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Conductor: Mariss Jansons

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra