Dmitri Hvorostovsky: Verdi Opera Scenes / Orbelian, Hvorostovsky, Radvanovsky

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Gala Live Concert from the Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory

Two of opera’s biggest stars, on the crest of solo album triumphs, team up for this long-awaited duet album of Verdi Scenes.

It is high drama and great Verdi, with Dmitri Hvorostovsky, widely recognized as "the Verdi baritone of our time" (Los Angeles Times), and Sondra Radvanovsky, the fastest-rising "true Verdi soprano” (Opera News) in international opera today. The electricity is palpable in the emotional duet scenes from Il Trovatore, Un Ballo in Maschera, and Simon Boccanegra. Dmitri sings a favorite among his signature arias, “O Carlo, ascolta,” from Don Carlo; and Sondra gives us a memorable glimpse of her Tosca in “Vissi d’arte.” We are treated to delightful Mozart and tender Dvorak. Dmitri’s favorite conductor, Constantine Orbelian, leads the Philharmonia of Russia in masterful fashion.

"Dmitri Hvorostovsky’s long career and vocal gifts have placed him in that small group of must-hear Verdi baritones. Pairing him with the beautifully matched voice of Sondra Radvanovsky makes for a wonderfully compelling recording of Verdi opera excerpts.

Hvorostovsky brings tremendous vocal security and experienced dramatic delivery to his various roles. Radvanovsky matches him measure for measure and the results are stunning. The recording’s producers have wisely selected Un Ballo’s Act 3 Scene 1 duet by Amelia and Renato to open the CD. Beautifully executed, this track firmly holds the listener’s attention for the balance of the disc... Radvanovsky finally closes the live performance with a powerfully and flawlessly executed “Vissi d’arte” (Tosca). The audience in the Moscow Conservatory’s Great Hall reportedly applauded for twenty minutes after this concert – and they had every reason to do so."

- Alex Baran, The

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: DE 3403

  • UPC: 013491340326

  • Label: Delos

  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák, Giacomo Puccini, Giuseppe Verdi, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Conductor: Constantine Orbelian

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Philharmonia of Russia

  • Performer: Dmitri Hvorostovsky, Sondra Radvanovsky