Dowland & Purcell: Silent Dance / Koell

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Since 2020, Margret Koell, a proven specialist in historical harps, has been in possession of a "Welsh Triple Harp". It is a copy of an instrument by the famous harp maker Evans, whose original from 1736 is kept in the Victoria and Albert Museum in London. This wonderful harp was the occasion for the present album with works by the two famous British composers John Dowland and Henry Purcell. Despite the long harp tradition on the British Isles, there is no original literature for the harp from this period. Margret Koell had to resort to literature for lute or keyboard instruments, which she makes sound on the harp without major changes. The pieces by Dowland and Purcell are characterized by a melancholy that was popular in their time, often combined with a light, dance-like impression. Margret Koell takes us on a "silent dance", into the mood of a fading early autumn summer day.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 21, 2022

  • Catalog Number: ACC 24387

  • UPC: 4015023243873

  • Label: Accent

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: John Dowland, Henry Purcell

  • Performer: Margret Koll