Dvorak: Piano Concerto, Etc / Primakov, Brown

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

In his 10/10 review for Classicstoday.com, critic David Hurwitz calls Primakov's Dvorak Concerto recording 'one terrific performance...it's so different from anything else available that it really does offer a fresh view of the work....Primakov's playing is so beautiful, and so captivatingly inflected...The other thing that makes this performance special is the outstanding contribution of Justin Brown and the Odense orchestra. Certainly this must be the finest accompaniment this concerto has yet received, full of color, transparency, fire, and (in the slow movement especially) sensitivity. Perfect balances and ideally natural engineering bathe the performance in a warmly sonorous glow. A magnificent release, surprising in the best possible way.' In the 'Classical Music Sentinel', Jean-Yves Duperron writes: 'In this new recording, the pianist Vassily Primakov negates any doubts as to the quality of Dvorak's writing, and plays this work with the flair and brilliance it deserves. His articulation is clean, his accents are precise, his nuances flow in and out of the orchestral fabric with ease, and his technique is flawless.' Writing in the 'Birmingham News', critic Michael Huebner praises both Primakov and Justin Brown, giving the recording '5 out of 5 Stars'. 'Antonin Dvorak's Piano Concerto receives a vibrant, probing reading that defies its reputation. Brown stakes out the opening movement with clear formal signposts and incisive accents, creating a canvas on which Primakov's painterly solos soar above the orchestra, then bond seamlessly with it. Hearing performances like this, it's a wonder this concerto hasn't garnered the attention it deserves. But it takes a pianist as fearless as Primakov to pull it off this well.' Vassily Primakov brings his formidable pianism to the wonderful, but infrequently performed Dvorak Piano Concerto, playing Dvorak's notoriously fiendish original version. British conductor Justin Brown leads the Odense SO in an impassioned account. Primakov also is heard in five solo pieces from Dvorak's inspired Poetic Tone Pictures, Op. 85.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: BCD9309

  • UPC: 090404930928

  • Label: Bridge Records

  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák

  • Conductor: Justin Brown

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Odense Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Vassily Primakov