Dvorak: Sacred Works & Cantatas

Regular price $56.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Faith in God was for Dvorák the cornerstone on which he built his own life and work, hence it comes as no surprise that a number of his seminal pieces are within the domain of sacred music, and frequently linked with a strong personal story.

The first version of the oratorio Stabat Mater came into being after the death of his first-born daughter. In the wake of the triumph of its London premiere, Dvorák received more commissions from the UK, which gave rise to other paramount compositions: The Spectre's Bride, Requiem and Saint Ludmila.

The instigation for Te Deum came from New York, where following the premiere of the New World Symphony Dvorák wrote the Biblical Songs, the apex of his oeuvre of this genre. The set also contains pieces that have been seldom performed (the cantata The Heirs of the White Mountain, Psalm 149 in the previously unreleased recording made by the conductor Václav Neumann.).

At the same time, this 8-disc collection within the Dvorák series, featuring gems from the Supraphon archive, showcases superlative artists and performances in sensitively re-mastered sound.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: August 14, 2015

  • Catalog Number: SU4187-2

  • UPC: 099925418724

  • Label: Supraphon

  • Number of Discs: 8

  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák

  • Conductor: Jirí Belohlávek, Václav Neumann, Václáv Smetácek, Wolfgang Sawallisch, Zdenek Kosler

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Prague Children's Chorus, Prague Philharmonic Chorus, Prague Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Benno Blachut, Brigitte Fassbaender, Drahomíra Drobková, Eva Urbanová, Eva Zikmundová, Gabriela Benacková, Ivan Kusnjer, Ivan Moravec, Jan-Hendrik Rootering, John Uhlenhopp, Josef Ksica, L'udovit Ludha, Marta Benacková, Peter Mikulas, Richard Novák, Thomas Moser, Vera Soukupová, Vladimir Krejcik