E. Franck: String Quartets Op 54 & 55 / Edinger Quartett

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Audite continues its series of recordings of the works of Eduard Franck with a pair of principal works of his chamber music production. The two String Quartets deliver convincing proof of the Mendelssohn pupil's compositional mastery and count as exemplary in terms of realising the creative possibilities of the genre around 1870. The two Quartets, probably composed at about the same time, reveal a striking difference in character: the C minor Quartet, Op. 55 emphasises excited, dramatic gestures and attains great musical consistency, whereas the E-flat major Quartet is characterised by a far more differentiated stylistic variety - from reminiscences of Haydn to the dramatic 'Adagio molto espressivo' of the second movement. The Edinger Quartet attaches great value to the task of making little-known masterworks accessible to the public and has especially intensively dedicated itself to the chamber music of Eduard Franck.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 01, 2000

  • Catalog Number: AUD20032

  • UPC: 402143200321

  • Label: Audite

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Eduard Franck

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Edinger Quartet

  • Performer: Alexander Kortschmar, Christiane Edinger, Igor Budinstein, Katharina Maechler