Early Music - Philips: Cantiones Sacrae Quinis Vocibus

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
"They (Cantione Sacrae) are beautifully drilled and blended, and led with great sensitivity to the flow of part lines, together with appreciation for the composer's frequent penchant for subdividing his five voices into an approximating of double-choir writing. This release is certainly a welcome contribution, then, to the recognition of Philips's wonderful musical legacy. Full Latin texts with English translations join excellent notes for another Naxos winner that would be a prize even in a higher price-range." - Barker, American Record Guide May/June 2002

"This mixed choir from New Zealand consists of some two dozen singers. They sound bright and limpid, and the quality of the sound-recording does the ensemble greater justice than do those of the other recordings. As to the interpretations, they more than stand comparison to their rivals. Indeed, the choice of pieces is arguably more varied, and gives a more satisfying picture of the composer... It is perhaps fair comment to say that the Naxos disc offers better value for money, and may be the more natural starting-point." - Fabrice Fitch, Gramophone, April 2002

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 01, 2002

  • Catalog Number: 8555056

  • UPC: 747313505623

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Peter Philips

  • Conductor: Peter Walls

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Tudor Consort